You are here

Oceanic rivals and British Para-Cyclists dominate the Velodrome


The Australian women and New Zealand men were the toast of the Glasgow 2014 track cycling competition at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

The Australian women out-medalled England's 10-6, while the New Zealand men finished with 11 to Australia's 10.

Anna Meares' (AUS) hunt for medals was one of the highlights of the four days of competition.

Meares' win in the 500m time trial on day one was her fifth Games Gold, drawing her level with countryman Bradley McGee for the most Gold won by any Commonwealth Games cyclist.

She followed that up with a Silver in the sprint, giving her eight Games medals overall. That ties her with New Zealand cyclist Gary Anderson for most medals of any kind.

Stephanie Morton (AUS), Meares' room-mate and heir to her throne, defeated Meares in the sprint final.

Meares will not give up that throne easily, however, vowing to go on until at least the Rio 2016 Olympic Games and possibly also the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Morton, Annette Edmondson (AUS) and Amy Cure (AUS) took home a combined six medals.

Annette and her brother Alex Edmondson (AUS) each won two.

New Zealand came into the competition as the hottest team in men's Sprinting and continued its devastating form.

The Men's Sprint team of Ethan Mitchell (NZL), Sam Webster (NZL) and Edward Dawkins (NZL) won Gold at the 2014 world championships in Cali, Colombia, and backed it up at Glasgow 2014.

Webster and Dawkins went on to more success, capturing Individual Sprint Silver and Bronze respectively. Matthew Glaetzer's (AUS) win over Webster in the keirin in the final track cycling race of the Games thwarted a Kiwi sprint event sweep.

Para cycling made its debut at Glasgow 2014, with two athletes standing out above the rest.

World record holders Neil Fachie (SCO) and Sophie Thornhill (ENG) swept their respective sprint and time trial events.

Bradley Wiggins (ENG) returned to the Commonwealth Games for the first time since Manchester 2002, making headlines days before the opening ceremony by saying he would miss the road events to concentrate on the Team Pursuit.

But he and his England team mates went down in the final to an Australian team featuring Jack Bobridge, himself returning to the track for the first time since the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Another England star, reigning Olympic sprint Gold medallist Jason Kenny, fought his way to Silver after just making it out of qualifying. He also picked up Silver in the team sprint.

He and partner Laura Trott (ENG) combined for three medals, with TROTT winning the Women's 25km Points Race.

Don’t forget you can keep up to date on sport and festival wherever you are, by downloading our free official ‘My Games’ and ‘My Results’ mobile apps. Find out more.

Although Track Cycling has come to a close, there are a host of other opportunities to be part of the Cycling action.  All sales are now “for collection”, so you can buy online or from the Ticket Hotline on 0800 458 2014*, then collect the tickets at our city centre George Square Ticket Office or the Venue Ticket Office.

Read our Essential guide to Buying and Collecting Tickets at Games Time.

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.