You are here


15 weight categories. 48kg to 105+kg. Power. Defiance.


Weightlifting requires gravity-defying strength, as male and female athletes heft huge weights into the air with every lift.

It is a competition of physical and mental toughness, where athletes compete according to 15 pre-determined body-weight categories and must record the biggest lift in their division to claim the Gold medal.

The Games will also include a Powerlifting competition for Para-Sport athletes, where weights will be bench-pressed into the air from a stationary position, with individual bodyweight and technique playing a major role in determining the overall medallists.

Spectators will experience the intensity and drama of this competition at the SECC Precinct.

Results and Schedule

Venue: The SECC Precinct [West End]


Watch out for: Nigeria pulled the biggest haul at Delhi 2010, and nations including Australia, England, Canada, India and Wales are usually among the medal winners. Watch out for big improvements from young up-and-coming lifters from nations within the Oceania, Asian and African regions.

International Federation: International Weightlifting Federation
International Paralympic Committee:

Results and Schedule

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.