You are here

FAQs - The Games

What are the Commonwealth Games?

The Commonwealth Games are international, multi-sport events – held every four years for athletes from Commonwealth nations.

The Games are overseen by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), which also controls the sporting programme and selects the host cities.

What is the Commonwealth Games Federation?

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the organisation that is responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games.

As a means of improving society and the general wellbeing of the people of the Commonwealth, the CGF also encourages and assists education via sport development and physical recreation.

Underlying every decision made by the CGF are three values – humanity, equality, destiny. These values help to inspire and unite millions of people and symbolise the broad mandate of the CGF within the Commonwealth.

How is the sports programme decided?

The sports contested in each Commonwealth Games are selected in accordance with specific requirements of the Commonwealth Games Federation from a list of core and optional sports. The programme is then proposed throughout the bid process and identifies the specific sports to be offered as a part of each Games.

For a sport to be added to the Commonwealth Games Federation list of sports, the responsible International Federation must submit a request along with background information for it to be considered. Unfortunately, even if this process took place in the next couple of years, certain sports could not be included in Glasgow's programme as we continue to plan venues and the competition for each of the sports that have already been approved.

What is the Organising Committee?

Glasgow 2014 Ltd is the official name for the Organising Committee – the company set up to deliver the XX Commonwealth Games.

Everyone in the Organising Committee is incredibly proud of our role in delivering the Games. We believe this is a tremendous coup for both the City of Glasgow and Scotland.

Along with our key partners, the Scottish Government, Glasgow City Council and Commonwealth Games Scotland, we are committed to delivering an outstanding athlete centered and sport focused Commonwealth Games, which will be held up as an exemplar for future Organising Committees.

What is the Queen’s Baton Relay?

The Queen’s Baton Relay (QBR) is one of the greatest traditions of the Commonwealth Games.

It was introduced at the British Empire and Commonwealth Games in Cardiff, Wales in 1958. From here it has developed into a symbol of unity and diversity, binding all the 70 nations and territories of the Commonwealth with the solitary message of peace and harmony through sports.

What is the history of the Commonwealth Games?

With a distinguished sporting history, the Commonwealth Games have gone from strength to strength.

The first games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada where 11 countries sent 400 athletes to take part in six sports and 59 events.

Since then, the Games have been held every four years (except for 1942 and 1946 because of the Second World War) and the event has seen many changes, not least in its name. From 1930 to 1950 the Games were known as the British Empire Games, from 1954 until 1966 the British Empire and Commonwealth Games and from 1970 to 1974 they took on the title of British Commonwealth Games. It was the 1978 Games in Edmonton that saw this multi-sports event change its name to the Commonwealth Games.

Scotland hosted the Games in 1970 and 1986. The 2002 Games in Manchester saw for the first time full medal events for elite athletes with a disability (EAD) in a fully-inclusive sports programme. This will be continued at Glasgow in 2014.

In 2000, the Commonwealth Games Federation created the Commonwealth Youth Games, open to athletes from 14 to 18 years of age. The inaugural Games were in Edinburgh. The 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games will be held on the Isle of Man.

1 to 6 of 6 results
Page 1 of 1

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.